2013~2016 CX-5 Brake Rotor and Pad recommendations?

ColoradoDriver

2014 CX-5 Touring AWD - 132k miles
Contributor
:
Denver, CO
Have a buddy who offered the use of their garage/lift and also offered to help me replace my rotors and brakes. He does all that work on all his vehicles and I've never done any brake work before.

Anyway, just wondering if anyone has any recommendations on rotors and pads and where to buy?

My factory rotors are toast. Was told last time that they won't take another resurfacing (done that twice now).

Also, any gotchas I should watch out for doing brakes?

Last edited:
I like OEM pads and rotors, because in my experience, nothing lasts as long, stops as quietly, nor throws less brake dust.

I did my 2013 last fall, and my parts bill for new OEM rotors, pads, and hardware was like $250. I bought from Mazda dealerships that sell on eBay or Amazon.

The only "gotcha" is, if you have an electronic emergency brake (a stupid answer to a question literally no one was asking, but that's a different topic entirely) you will have to put the brakes into "maintenance mode" before retracting the rear caliper pistons. There's guides both on this website and YouTube on how to do this.

Also, when you lubricate your caliper slide pins, DO NOT use any oil base substance like grease or whatnot. Only use silicone paste. The grease can break down the rubber grommets, causing them to fail and thus let dirt, grime, and water onto the slider pins. Not good. Silicone paste is cheap and every auto parts store has it.

I like OEM pads and rotors, because in my experience, nothing lasts as long, stops as quietly, nor throws less brake dust.

I did my 2013 last fall, and my parts bill for new OEM rotors, pads, and hardware was like $250. I bought from Mazda dealerships that sell on eBay or Amazon.