Jedidiah55's KL Swap

Jedidiah55

McNoobin'
:
2003 Protege 5 V6 GT
I've been putting off writing a thread for almost a year now, and I am by no means an expert on the topic
That's my engine its from 93 Probe ATX for 750 shipped with liftgate service
IMG_0563.jpg

Lantis Type R MTX w/LSD 550 picked up
took everything off the p5 tranny and put on the kl tranny except pressure plate
wiring harness from a 94 626 with ecu 30-45 bucks at a local junkyard (which raised their prices now)
Kl02 VAF 20
intermediate shaft 30 wrong bracket so i have a custom made one thank god for cutting torches and welders
flexy hoses from advance auto parts 1" to 1 1/4" 36 inches and 30 inches i believe 35 dollars
part number 72082 25 bucks
i have the wrong size cause i listened to my friend
extended the kl throttle cable mount to use p5 throttle cable
used stock p5 PS pressure hose and reservoir and half the return hose from the kl and the p5 and connected them
ebay headers and down pipe 100 shipped
used stock p5 shift linkage
used p5 mounts
IMG_0565.jpg

i have my ecu in my engine bay to tweak my wiring and this is before my car was running
my ecu now sits in the glove box

wiring
i had all my p5 tranny sensor on the kl tranny so i let the p5 harness control the starter but i wired my kl starter wire to the p5 starter fuse
i grounded the fuel pump relay wire not the pin on my p5 ecu its purple wire
for power i used the p5 battery wire pin 4 to my kl 1A and the rest are from fuses
cooling fan p5 wire 47 to kl ecu pin 2P and 3L
used my extra temp sensor for p5, i extended the connector and now i have a temp gauge
battery light fix!!!!!!
part i used about 14 bucks after tax
2012-03-25175415.jpg

wired up
2012-03-25150245.jpg

the explanation
i stole from
http://www.mp3car.com/the-faq-emporium/117895-faq-relays-how-they-work-and-how-to-wire-it-up.html

Relay.jpg

86 needs to be connected for a power source from the alt or a power source thats only now when the car is idling
85 ground