Poll 2.5T Coolant Leak/Engine Replacement

Who is having coolant leak issues and have had their engines replaced?

• Yes

Votes: 49 40.5%
  • No

Votes: 72 59.5%

• Total voters
The parts dept should have a record that the exhaust gasket was issued to this work order. Its how they get paid from Mazda and also its how they control inventory. This is a big deal. Its a huge repair. Your engine had the updated head and exhaust gasket from the factory which is definitely a good thing. Now you really dont know whats in there. I would be like a dog with a bone on this. They can provide that paperwork showing the gasket was issued to the work order. I have been an airplane mechanic most of my life and this kinda stuff chaps my ass

Recently purchased a 2016 CX-9 GT AWD to replace a 2011 that had the dreaded water pump failure at 188,000 miles. Rebuilt the 3.7L engine (in the car) and looks like we will continue to drive the 2011 while the 2016 sits in the garage leaking coolant from the backside of the engine. Only drove the 2016 a couple of weeks before the leak started. Notified "Mazda Customer Experience Center" and received the expected reply. "We're sorry....Power train warranty has expired... if more owners report this, we might do something...We'll let you know."

I have scheduled a complete teardown and evaluation of all defective engine components with documentation of all findings to begin on my CX-9 next week if Mazda doesn't change their mind in the next few days with an offer to replace my engine.

I've spent a major portion of a 40 year career working for auto manufacturers (GM, Ford, Nissan, Toyota and BMW.) When they screw up and something like this happens, their only concern is $$$ (limiting the cost of the mistake). Sharing info on these boards is an incredible consumer tool against these greedy corporate accountants. They preach "Integrity", but they sure don't practice it!