Roof Rail and Cross Bars Question

jcmac87

:
Mazda Cx5 GT AWD with Tech package
Hi all,

I am a total newbie regarding roof rails and cross bars. I am going to purchase my mazda cx5 gt with tech in a day or 2.
I don't know whether or not to just get the oem roof rails or just the cross bars? Or... do I need both of them? I'm so
confused. I need a rack to transport a cargo box and 2 bikes. First timer.. Thanks.

I've only seen in the US rails or rails WITH crossbars as OEM.

I've seen across the pond, crossbars only but they use different rails from what I've come to understand (and may not even be OEM.)
Remember, you can get the OEM rails and crossbars later too. It's an easy install.

You need roof rails to mount the crossbars to. So you can't just get crossbars.

You can get crossbars that are mounted to "feet" that take the place of roof rails but if it were me I'd get the roof rails. You can get aftermarket crossbars that fit the CX5. This is what I am considering but haven't needed them yet so it is on the back burner.

One consideration is when you use the factory rails, the front crossbar will be positioned further back on the car compared to a Yakima Qtower or Thule Podium system that clamps above the doors. This could be an issue if you have a long cargo box. A long box combined with the factory crossbar postion means the hatch might hit the box. I installed a custom system that allows me to use a long box, have a more forward bar position but also have a cleaner close to factory look.

One consideration is when you use the factory rails, the front crossbar will be positioned further back on the car compared to a Yakima Qtower or Thule Podium system that clamps above the doors. This could be an issue if you have a long cargo box. A long box combined with the factory crossbar postion means the hatch might hit the box. I installed a custom system that allows me to use a long box, have a more forward bar position but also have a cleaner close to factory look.