Steel wheels for Winter

mogulman

:
CX-7 GT
I was thinking about getting some steel wheels for some snow tires for winter and maybe some tires at some end-of-season deals...

16" seems to be the cheapest and probably the best traction in deeper snow.

Anyone know any specs I need for these wheels?

Tirerack has them as 16"x6.5

Is there some kind of offset or anything else that I need to get the right rims?

I've seen someone selling some Honda steel Rims from a honda Odyssy 16x6.5 for $95.

mogulman said:
I was thinking about getting some steel wheels for some snow tires for winter and maybe some tires at some end-of-season deals...

16" seems to be the cheapest and probably the best traction in deeper snow.

Anyone know any specs I need for these wheels?

Tirerack has them as 16"x6.5

Is there some kind of offset or anything else that I need to get the right rims?

I've seen someone selling some Honda steel Rims from a honda Odyssy 16x6.5 for $95.

Admittedly, I'm not an expert in tires and wheels, but can you explain the rational for dropping the stock 18" tires in favor of smaller, 16" tires? Wouldn't that reduce the ground clearance? One of the advantages in winter for SUV's is that they have a higher ground clearance, so it's easier to get through snow.

Vince.

You get smaller wheels but bigger tires so that the diameter is the same.

the reasoning for it is that at least for normal cars, snow tires for a 16" wheel are much, much cheaper than for an 18. On the CX-7, I doubt the profile on a 16 is hugely different than a 18 so the prices might not be too different.

16x6.5" seems like a small rim for such a big heavy car, is that what they recommend for a CX-7 specifically? You have to make sure it'll clear your brakes too, I know the MS6 can't do anything smaller than a 17" wheel because of the brakes.

Kansei said:
You get smaller wheels but bigger tires so that the diameter is the same.