Purchased Pirelli P7s

:
2014 CX 5 GT
Purchased Pirelli P7s

After my Toyo OEMs (225-55-R19) wore out after only 43,943 km (I am an engineer, I cant help but measure everything), I found a reasonable sale at Canadian Tire for the Pirelli P7s. The local dealer matched the sale, plus I will receive a $70 rebate (MasterCard?) which apparently takes 3 months to arrive in the mail. The P7s have been installed for 3 weeks now and are performing well. At first I found them a bit soft in the corners, not as stiff as the Toyos. I checked the tire pressure cold, and the dealer had set them at 34 psi. I increased it to 36 psi and it has made a difference, it is now more stiff when cornering, closer to the Toyo feel, which I really liked.

Regarding road noise, they seem quiet, but I cant really compare to the Toyos. Due to a bad rear diff (see my other thread), unfortunately road noise had been an issue for a while which I mistakenly attributed to the Toyos premature wear.

I had them for an extended period on the highway this weekend, and they did well at highway speeds (100-130 km/hr), still responsive, but maybe not as solid feeling as the Toyos. Someone else had mentioned in another thread that the P7s have softer sidewalls, so increasing the tire pressure to 40 psi may help. I may try it at 38 psi in a week or so to see if there is any noticeable improvement.

Hopefully these will last longer than the OEMs!

Purchased Pirelli P7s

Check the maximum inflation pressure on the sidewall of your new Pirelli Cinturato P7. It should be at only 44 psi instead of 51 psi on OEM Toyo A23's. So you really don't want to put too much air into your P7 other than the spec at 36 psi cold. This lower spec on maximum inflation pressure at 44 psi on Pirelli Cinturato P7 and Michelin Premier LTX is the reason I have reserves getting these two tires. I'll get tires with 51 psi maximum inflation pressure like the OEM Toyo A23 is having.