Overboost problem

storm1513

Hey all, I just installed a new Disco potato, forge boost controller and a corksport intercooler. Ran into a problem when we rolled it out for a test. The controller is turned all way down and it seems like car is over boosting the boost on the gauge just wouldn't stop it just keep climbing until it hit around 10 on the gauge and around 6k rpms then it tried to kill the engine let off and let it calm down and it did it a couple more times. What could be causing this issue? I am pretty new to this stuff so take it easy on me. It had this issue before with the old turbo which we swapped out lots of play in the shaft on it and burning oil bad.

another question the waste gate actuator how tight should that be. It takes a pretty hard push by hand to get it to open I am wondering if it is way to tight and not opening properly .

Which direction are you turning the MBC? I believe most turn the opposite direction so you think it is all the way down and it is actually maxed out. Be VERY careful with that MBC, I wouldn't even use it with a stock engine.

also, what kind of wastegate is on there? cuz i do believe the stock wastegate that comes on the disco is rated for 12psi. i may be wrong but you may need to switch it out and put wastegate rated for 6-8psi which u can get from ATP. but frist also check the MBC is all the way loose not tight as stated above. if its all the way tight you have it maxed out to run the max amount of boost possible.

the WGA will be hard to open by hand even at 6 to 8 psi so if your new turbo wastegate is actually at 12 psi, I would expect it to be extremely difficult to open by hand.