Leaky head gasket - 36,000 km

Fleeecy

:
2014 CX-5 GT AWD
During a regular maintenance visit, my dealer found traces of coolant leaking from my '14 CX-5 2.5 GT's head gasket.

I'm scheduled to drop off my car for a 24h service that will involve disassembly of the engine to fix this.

I'm no mechanic, but this doesn't sound too good for a car with barely 36,000 km on the odo and 22 months of ownership. Am I crazy?

Here's my list of issues with the CX-5 so far...

- USB and BT Audio issues (partially fixed with the recent TSB)
- Vibrating hood and mirrors (hood improved but never 100% fixed)
- Rust bubbles found on hatch last summer, paint defect: repainted under warranty
- Driver's seat rocking back and forth, seat rails replaced under warranty
- Premature wear on the driver's seat leather; replaced the leather under warranty (installation was very difficult for the dealer, took 5 visits to get it right - don't get me started on this)
- Broken parts in the driver's seat that would let the headrest wobble. Parts replaced under warranty.
- Noisy driver's seat motor. Replaced under warranty. Why they have not just replaced the whole seat is beyond me.
- Noisy door locks, replaced a year ago but problem is starting to reappear...

...and now this. It's the first real mechanical issue with my car, but I'm starting to feel like this car will be expensive to keep on the road past the warranty period. (boom03)

This is the first case that I've seen of a serious engine problem with the skyactiv cars. Most of us here (and thousands of others not on the forum) aren't experiencing any engine problems. There are many 2012-13 skyactiv Mazda 3's with 100,000 miles plus on them.
Check out this thread for some confidence: http://mazda3revolution.com/forums/...o-s-got-most-miles-their-skyactiv-3-a-15.html

These aren't Subarus on which the head gasket is a common problem.

How did the dealer detect this coolant leak? Smoke? Coolant in the oil?