2016~2023 CX-9 Coolant Overflow Tank

:
2016 Mazda CX-9
Hey everyone,

So I know the 2nd-gen CX-9’s have a closed coolant system. However, when I checked my coolant overflow tank, I noticed the coolant was well below the low fill line. Should this be cause for any concern?

I have taken my car to my local Mazda dealer and had them do a coolant flush; however, they didn’t top up the coolant in the overflow tank to in-between the low and full line. Additionally, they said there’s no leaks, so I’m not sure whether I should be concerned. I’m new to the car community, so if you guys could explain how this process works, that would be amazing!

I’ve added a video below (it’s so bad and I apologize for that) showcasing the coolant overflow tank and how it’s empty. The engine is warm and temperature gauge read 200°F. Since the video didn’t really show my concern clearly, I’ve added two images showing how the expansion tank is empty.

Once again, I would really appreciate it if you guys could explain whether this should raise some concern.

Thank you,
Shawnee

Attachments

• RPReplay_Final1682521413.mov
    42.4 MB
  • IMG_2088.jpeg
    IMG_2088.jpeg
    51.4 KB · Views: 145
  • IMG_2087.jpeg
    IMG_2087.jpeg
    48.6 KB · Views: 138
Update:

So I checked the owner’s manual, and the coolant reservoir tank should be filled with coolant between the L and F lines when the engine is cool. I’ve added a screenshot from the owner’s manual regarding this piece of information. I hope this helps other CX-9 owners!

Sincerely,
Shawnee

P.S. this owner’s manual is for the 2016 CX-9, I’m not sure if Mazda changed any information for the CX-9’s between 2017-2023.

I don't think anything was changed regarding this info for newer CX-9s. I also had low coolant when cold, but I topped it up and it seems to be okay now.