Automatic Transmission output shaft bearing

Jvmarino

:
2008 Mazda5
So I am new to the Maxda world, but have much experience with many other vehicles I own/have owned.

I just purchased a used 2008 Mazda5, with about 76,000 miles on it. I knew about a highway noise that seemed to be wheel bearings as it was louder at higher speeds and went away in a right turn. While I couldn't believe a wheel bearing would be bad at such a low mileage number, I proceeded to have both front bearings replaced. Noise is still there and mechanic then showed me the driver side half shaft has movement up/down where the shaft goes into the differential. Again, amazed that this could be bad on such a low mileage vehicle (just as a reference, I have run some of my other cars over 200,000 miles, with no driveline issues until I approached 150,000 miles). He pulled shaft and confirmed the shaft had no wear in it, which leads me to believe the bearing on the differential output is worn.

I have been searching the Internet for the last 2 days and have found no mention of this by others with a Mazda5 or Mazda3.

Is this typical, and is there any way to replace the bearings with transmission in the car?

Jim