2016 Seat Heaters

I'm a bit disappointed in the heated seats in my 16 GT. Even on the highest settings it doesn't get as warm as my BMW on the lowest setting. Plus they are slow to heat up. Very poor job Mazda did on them.

Just my 2 cents.

I mentioned the weak heaters in my 2014.5 during an oil change, and the service tech somehow measured it and agreed. It took 2-3 months for the new pads to arrive. The new ones are no better than the old ones, and I was left with a broken passenger side seat recliner handle to boot.

Partially blown? What does that even mean? I've been working with electronic circuits for 20+ years and I have never once seen or heard of a "partially blown" fuse. A fuse is either open, or it's not.

A poorly crimped connection could be right on point though.

Partially blown fuses are not as uncommon as you think. Fuses blow by melting. When the damaging over-current situation is interrupted as the fuse is melting you can end up with a fuse that has more resistance than a good fuse but still passes current without failing further.

I'm surprised with your stated experience you have never seen this.

As an HVAC tech I too have never seen a "partially blow" fuse. I suppose I will have to check the heated seat with a digital thermometer to be sure. If they do not provide "heat" to the person sitting in the seat then they are not doing the job claimed by Mazda representatives as well as claimed on the invoice and sales brochure. That having been said, if they fail to provide heat to the seat, well, that could open up several legal issues. Personally, I am trying to discover as many short comings as possible prior to purchasing one, so I can decide if it's worth my time, effort and money.

Partially blown fuses have been around since fuses were invented. It is simply a fuse that still allows voltage to flow (so it will test fine with a continuity tester) but will not pass sufficient current due to it's partially blown state.