RX7 with possible blown rotor

Vince Vu

:
'03 Mazda Proteg5 Manual
Hey guys, just a quick question about the rotary engines. I was thinking about buying an '83 RX7 off someone, but they said it dies whenever it goes under 2,000 RPMS. Apparently the carb was rebuilt, and they don't think it's the vacuum or timing. They suggested that it is a "blown" rotor in the engine, and I was wondering what exactly meant as far as repair. I am a mechanic but haven't jumped too far into engine work, especially the rotary engines, so any help clarifying the issue is appreciated!

TL;DR: What has to be done to fix a blown engine rotor in an '83 RX7 1.2?

"Blown" means full rebuild, no questions asked. Not really a terribly difficult job on the Wankel engines as long as you keep all the seals organized.

That being said a rotor can't really "blow." Its seals can fail causing a loss of compression but rarely is the rotor damaged. You can check compression a number of ways, the best being with a Wankel-specific compression tester. On a budget you can remove the valve from a normal compressor tester and watch the needle bounce. Even cheaper you can just pull the trailing spark plug and listen for "pops." You want to hear three strong, distinct pops from each rotor. A faint pop means one or more side seals could be bad. No pops at all means a failed apex seal.

"Blown" means full rebuild, no questions asked. Not really a terribly difficult job on the Wankel engines as long as you keep all the seals organized.