RX-7 FC Build Ideas?

Kere

I have a Turbo II RX-7 that a friend of mine is giving me when he pulls it out of storage.(IT HAS RS Watanabe F8 rims :D) It hasn't run in a while but has been kept in good condition. I want to put racing parts on it like i have all my cars, but this is the first rotary i've ever even seen. So i have no idea how to build it and what parts. He said to get parts from Mazdatrix.com. It hasn't arrived yet, but i want to build it like a nice, powerful, good car. I have some Experience after building a Camaro and a Mustang, but this is a rotary. All help would be appreciated. The ideal build is for Autocross. Thanks.

So far this is the exhaust he bought for it but never put on.
http://mazdatrix.com/r-extii.htm Part# 16425

Giving?! Wow...

Any more details on the car (year, miles, rebuilt engine or not)? If it hasn't run in a while you might have your work cut out for you. Mazdatrix is a decent resource for most mainstream stock and aftermarket parts but I find their prices high sometimes. It looks like your buddy purchased the Racing Beat exhaust through Madatrix. Very few of the parts they sell are actually their own. There are a bunch of other places out there that sell good parts. Unfortunately the rotary community here is relatively small, but we'll help where we can. I strongly suggest getting the car running strong and reliably before doing anything to it. If you're serious about autocrossing leave it stock for a while so you can get a feel for it.

I agree on keeping it stock for now, replace all of the maintainace items ( oil, coolant, brake fluid, trans and diff fluid, plugs wires, belts) and make the car reliable. Then after you learn what the car should feel like and you get some seat time, then you can start modding the car to fix its problems.

Giving?! Wow...