Quick question about this CAI

KyleSpence

:
Mazda 3 sport Hatchback 6 speed manual
Im just starting out learning about cars, i just got myself a 2011 mazda 3 sport hatchback, 6 speed manual. I never had a car worth doing anything too before so im new to all this. i was wondering if this Cold Air Intake would fit in my 2011 Mazda 3, I think it should, but mine is not the MazdaSpeed, so i was curious if this CAI will only fit in the speed, and not mine.

http://www.jscspeed.com/catalog/Injen_Short_Ram_Intake_for_07_11_Mazdaspeed3-10261-1.html

Last edited:
First, that is an SRI not a CAI. second, run the part number against the info on the Injen website for the Mazda 3s. Or give them a call.

Yeah Man, that fits the Speed models only. They are turboed which makes a world of difference. The air inlet/Throttle body is in a completely different place on the Speeds.
But don't worry, Injen makes them for the std N/A (Naturally Aspired) 3 series also, and while expensive they are said to be one of the best.

A few terms that may help you out:
CAI = Cold Air Intake: A long, smooth tubed intake that usually draws the air in from under the car, behind a bumper cover, or in many cases from inside a wheel well. These are best for mid to upper midrange power increases.

SRI = Short Ram Intake: A short, smooth walled intake that still takes air in from the engine compartment. Best for high RPM power increases. These are more easily serviced than are CAI's because the filter is more easily accessible.

Do not expect any noticeable increases in performance from either. In fact, you may notice a slight drop in low end torque. And do not expect any better fuel mileage either, in spite of what hype they may throw at you.

Wow that helps out a lot, thank you man i really appreciate the help. Theres so much i want to do i wish i could do it all at once! Do you recommend any specific CAI that fits my 2011? and also exhaust? those are the 2 things i want to start out with.