P2009 and P0090

TaylorM

:
2003 Protege5
Hey everyone, I am new to the Mazda Forums and looking for a little help. I tried google searches and looking on here for the same topic but didnt find much. If you have seen this come up else where, I would appreciate it if you would kindly post a link and I'll read through however many pages I need to.
First, the Background:
I have a bone stock 2003 Protege5 with 110k miles that has always treated me well. I have had some engine codes popping up recently and I have dealt with them one at a time. At first I had a Lean Fuel/Air Ratio code come on with a Fuel Pressure Regulator (P0090) code. I replaced the Regulator and found a hissing noise from my intake gasket. I removed the intake and replaced the gasket and threw it all back together. This was about 2 months ago.
Now, I have two codes popping up: VTC solenoid code (P2009) and Fuel Pressure Regulator (P0090). I thought it was odd that the P0090 came back because I had replaced it so recently. So I decided to attack the P2009. I got a new solenoid and replaced it, then cleared the code. Code stayed off for a day... now its back. But it only comes back with both P2009 and P0090. In my google research, I haven't found anybody with these two coming on together. Anybody ever heard of this? Or does anybody have any ideas how I can go about fixing it? I read online somewhere that the P2009 can be caused by a bad sensor. Anybody know what sensor this is or where it is located?
Thanks in advance for your ideas.

Until someone with more direct solutions comment, I will leave my suggestions.

Might not be your pressure regulator, might just be your pump as the pumps are known to fail and when they do they don't provide enough pressure. Don't go throwing parts at your car now, but its just something to think about.