New here with a 2002 white protege5

Hello...im new to mazda cars...have had alot of experience with nissan but really loved the style opf the protege5...

few things im not too happy bout now that i own one
- very loud...seems like mazda forgot to insulate the car....went on a road trip and man it was loud

- rough riding...not entirely sure if i have aftermarket suspension or not but its rough...i maybe looking into changing this.

- new problem i have is rough idle...in drive it seems like it wants to cut off. looking at http://www.msprotege.com/forum/showthread.php?t=94788 and may try this to see if this fixes the problem...i hope so. I have a K&N drop in filter and im sure it needs cleaning. i plan to pick up a basic drop in and swap till i get the K&N clean.

hope maybe some of you can give feedback on these and maybe some thoughts on improving them...love the car otherwise...alot of power for a small car...alot more then my 200 sx i had. My mazda auto but i still think i cna beef it up some ;)
will post pics soon

Welcome! I just recently acquired a 02 P5 and I can agree with you that the ride is rough, and the car is loud. It is a nice package though.

SLowly but surely I am fixing all the bad things on it. I am working on fixing the brakes next.

I already experienced my first burnt headlight bulb, and it was a pain to change it. I have ordered a HID kit for it now since I hear the P5 eats bulbs for lunch. The previous owners had left some behind thankfully.

GL

X

welcome aboard! is there an aftermarket exhaust on your car? i have no cats and a RB exhaust and my car isn't that loud?

Yeah, it is loud, lots of road noise. But I guess it's cost-saving and weight-saving to skimp on the insulation.

That's exactly why you have a lot of road noise. If you have a rack on top it'll have more wind noise too.
It's an entry level car, but a damn fine one.:cool: