CX5 FWD in winter?

buddastrat

:
2015 CX5
Newbie here, and my wife and I are loving the new ride. Really fun compared to our old RAV4. I kinda wanted the AWD, but the Rav4 was FWD, and we had no problems with it in the winter for what we need it for. Looking around on YT, all the videos are AWD. We went with the CX5 because of the high safety ratings it got. With winter approaching I was wondering how this FWD CX5 does in snow, ice etc. I was looking around for snow tires, and it seems very limited selection because of the odd size that the CX5 comes with. I really hate to buy tires on a brand new ride but safety is top concern. The Rav4's stock tires were fine and I'm hoping this one will be. Appreciate any input, and thanks.

Last edited:
For starters, it would be helpful if you divulged what part of "USA" you'll be driving in.

If it snows where you live, you would want an extra set of wheels + tire for winter season.

I was hoping to just get some good all weather tires if needed. Don't have room to store another set of tires. Like I said, the Toyota Rav4 was fine in all kinds of weather even the -30 frigid Ohio winter last year, also had good traction with the stock tires and then with the Hankooks we put on. Was interested in something like the Hankooks optima 4s which you leave on all year but don't have the size for the CX5. Plus I don't think they are available in the States.

I just thought maybe there was some idea about how well the CX5 FWD does in snow. One thing I forgot to research before we bought the vehicle. I wish we could've test drove in snow/ice but weather didn't cooperate.

Last edited: