cranking up the booostt

drewski1990

:
mazdaspeed protege 2003.5
I want to increase a bit more horses from the factory boost. I thought of deleting the CAT, but i didnt want to bare the hassle of CEL and increase in fuel consumption seeing as gas prices are on the rise. Maybe increasing the boost would settle this problem. Maybe to 10psi since factory internals can bare 15. Am i safe to run 10psi on only a fmic mod?

Lol who told you factory internals are good to 15 psi?! Lol. People ( including myself ) bend rods at Stock boost.
Unless you run meth and some sort of tuning ( split second, unichip, etc) it's very risky and you probably will blow a rod through the block.
Good luck with however you go about it

The number didnt magically appear to me. I read it on the forums. Piggy backs are pretty costly. Im just doing some research here, if everyone believe that its a bad idea then I won't consider it. Im pretty new to this, so please excuse me if i asked something dumb.

Its a worthwhile investment, just a bit expensive at the moment. If the tuning of it is not too difficult, I could save up for it. Is your setting at factory boost? If 10psi is too high what is consider acceptable and most importantly safe?

Its a worthwhile investment, just a bit expensive at the moment. If the tuning of it is not too difficult, I could save up for it. Is your setting at factory boost? If 10psi is too high what is consider acceptable and most importantly safe?

stock boost levels, until you get the mentioned piggyback or split second afc....OH and also having supporting mods (ie forged is a must on these cars to turn up boost)

The guy I bought my msp off of blew the original motor on 10lbs. Despite he was at a track running it hard all night, still in the end he had to replace the whole motor just because he wanted to up the psi without supporting mods. I wouldn't reccomend it.