Anyone know of a Mazda 1200 pickup?

randyscycle

:
1971 Mazda 1200 pickup
Hi all,
New member here looking for some really classic Mazda info. I recently acquired a 1971 Mazda 1200 pickup, and cannot find any info on it at all. Its pre '72 Mazda 1600/Ford Courier style pickup and there is no mention of it anywhere. The front end sheet metal looks sort of like the 1200 car grille, and it has small oval taillights, different from the later Mazda trucks.

I am a professional restorer of Japanese motorcycles and old Japanese vehicles, and usually have better luck than this finding info. There is nothing on Ebay other than 1200 car parts, which other than the engine, there are no similarities. The only reference, on the net, to this model at all is from a fellow in British Columbia who had one in the 70's. He claims his was one of only 50 sold in Western Canada. Where he got that information isn't clear. Mazda has no records at all, or at least no one I have contacted there knows anything about it. I also have found no refence to it in any parts books at the local auto parts store, or older service manuals from the time like Chilton, Motor, Haynes, etc.

What I do know about it:

It was sold in Florida. (according to the service/warranty booklet)
It is a March of 1971 model.
It is a US model, because it has a Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard tag.
The VIN and engine number both start with BTA65.

Any help, directions, laughter, advice, etc. would be greatly appreciated!

Randy Creel
randyscycle
Rhoadesville VA
www.rcycle.com

does it look like this?
1946_b1500_zoom.gif

or does it look like this?
hst-2G.gif

Mazda 1200

TheMAN said:
does it look like this?
1946_b1500_zoom.gif

or does it look like this?
hst-2G.gif

Actually the top pic of the truck is somewhat similar, but the front end is different. It shares more similarity with the car grille. I've been trying to post a pic, but being a new mmber I guess is slowing that down.

randyscycle

Pic of 1200 pickup