2009 CX-9 GT AWD Towing weight distribution hitch

Hello folks,

(Sorry in advance as I'm a newbie here, it's my first attempt at posting and thanks for your patience....)

Question: is the factory installed (OEM) tow/hitch on a 2009 Mazda CX-9 GT AWD attached to its frame..? The local-shop I'm working with to buy/get a weight-distribution hitch first said 'can't use weight-distribution on 09 CX-9' and after I shared info. I gathered online/google, they asked if I can call Mazda to find if their OEM hitch is attached to the frame? I tried using the call, email, chat options via MazdaUsa site and non work, everything seems to be inactive or non-responding (...it's strange that their website details operation hours, contact time but nothing works...)

More Info: I've a 2009 CX-9 GT AWD with (OEM) factory installed tow/hitch (I think they default to 2" with 3500 lbs max tow cap) I'm planning to pick/tow our new travel-trailer (16' about 2600 lbs) cross-country/long-distance. Since we are traveling with a 4 year old, I wanted to look into the safety features like adding a trailer brake controller and getting a weight distribution hitch. (I'm an experienced driver but work-in-progress in the towing department)
  • I'm scheduled to get brake controller w/ charge line (proportional) installed
  • However, the same local-shop where I'm getting the brake work done, at first said "09 CX-9 can't use weight distribution", and later on (after I told them that there are weight distribution hitch for my vehicle in market) they asked if I have factory installed/OEM or custom installed hitch. Upon finding that it's factory installed they said if I can find out from Mazda whether their factory installed hitch is attached to the body/frame of the vehicle, and if that's the case then they would be happy to find/install a weight-distribution hitch for me.