Anyone cross shop the CX-5 with a Subaru Outback?

Cuz

Contributor
Hey all,
I have a 2011 Outback 2.5i Limited with 190k miles. I bought it new, and plan to replace it with a 2019/2020 vehicle. Right now Im thinking another Outback or a CX-5 Signature model. I have no Mazda experience and was wondering if anyone has compared them yet.

Thanks.

Hey all,
I have a 2011 Outback 2.5i Limited with 190k miles. I bought it new, and plan to replace it with a 2019/2020 vehicle. Right now I*m thinking another Outback or a CX-5 Signature model. I have no Mazda experience and was wondering if anyone has compared them yet.

Thanks.

Drive the CX-5 and you will know your preference.

The Outback will ride on a new global platform next year and can't be compared to what is currently available on dealer's lots. If your current Suby is able to go a little longer, wait until the end of the year and then test drive both as 2020 models.

Last edited:
The Outback will ride on a new global platform next year and can't be compared to what is currently available on dealer's lots. If your current Suby is able to go a little longer, wait until the end of the year and then test drive both as 2020 models.

Agreed. It doesn't hurt to get some time behind the wheel of the CX-5 now, but you'll definitely want to test them back to back in order to weigh the pros and cons fairly.

Just a friendly suggestion as well - make sure you're as thorough as you can be during your test drives. There have been a few cases of people overlooking certain features/characteristics about the car they bought because they didn't spend enough time behind the wheel before putting pen to paper.

I'm not familiar with the Outback, but if yours doesn't have a CVT, that's something to consider/research as well. I think Subaru has one of the best CVTs on the market, but some people prefer the feel of a traditional transmission over a CVT.