Zaino'd the CX-5

:
2019 CX-5 GT-R
I've had the CX-5 almost 3 weeks now and decided it was time to give the car the full Zaino treatment. For those unfamiliar with http://www.zainostore.com/, they make synthetic car polishes that are amazing. I've been using their products since 2005 on my Mazda RX-8 and love the results I've gotten so figured I'd do the same for the CX-5

The Zaino lineup:

NQa7Azvh.jpg

First step was to wash the car to get it ready:

gIlt58Sh.jpg

after washing the car, it was time to break out the clay bar. In reality, you could use any clay bar, I just happened to use Zaino's I had ordered one last week when purchasing a few things from them.

7I3zE7Yh.jpg

For those who haven't clay'd a car before, the idea here is to run the clay bar over the paint and it will pick up grime and contaminants that are on the paint. The trick to doing this is to 'lubricate' the paint as you go, I chose to use soapy water but quick detailer spray also works.
You want to run the clay bar in straight lines over the paint after you've wet that area. Work in 3x3 sections and take your time. Running the bar over the paint should feel a lot like gliding a hockey puck across the ice. If you have more resistance than that, spray more liquid or you could scratch the paint. Once you've clay'd the area, wipe it down with a microfiber and move on to the next section.
Also, you can clay any part of the car, chrome, mirrors, paint, etc.

After claying the hood and driver side doors you can already see the bar has picked up some contaminants off the paint (little black specks)

PmcWpcnh.jpg

Once I was done with the entire vehicle, it was time for another quick wash. I say quick because the car is not only clean from the previous wash and clay but it also has a ton of dried soapy water on it so this part goes relatively quickly. No picture needed for this.

Next up is the science project that is Zaino.