Upgrading my Sub!

blakesmith13

:
2003 Mazda Protege5
im selling my two 10's to go for one sub i wanna take up a lil less space...so i was thinking the ED8a with one of the Avionixx amps in a sealed box...anyone else have any other suggestions? i just wanna take up less room but still make good bass sound...i dunno what all you guys mean with the SPL and stuff so im a newb....explaining helps...:)

SPL is Sound Pressure Level and is related to how loud the bass is. IF you want quality sound with decent bass, then your idea for an 8" ed and avionixx amp is dead on. YOu really cannot go wrong with that setup. Pimpprotege69 is using the 8a and he loves it. I hope to hear it soon to see how it compares to my 12k44

I'm running an eD 10A.22 with 500 watts RMS from a Kenwood mono amp in a small sealed box.

Sounds incredible. Clean, tight, and plenty loud enough for my tastes.

I'd also look seriously into the fiberglassing articles that have been posted. I'm looking to do this, likely very soon for my 12a. because more or less tucking a "box" into a nook and cranny kind of spot leaves MUCH more room for whatever else you may want to carry around. I'd post a link, but I wanna give credit where due and I don't recall the name of the member who posted it. run a quick search and you'll find it. Heck, checkout Rider's box, that's a fiberglassed 12, looks to creep in on space fairly minimally. YOU may be able to squeeze a single 10 into essentially the same functional "space" that you'd need for that 8. Damn this is fueling my fire, I really need to get off my ass here... MUST fiberglass NOW!!!

well hell that fiberglassing stuff makes me really wanna do that! but since i don't wanna live without subs for a while ill make the tiny sealed box for right now and get around to the fiberglass later...do you think if i used the passenger side where jack is that that would be enough volume for the sub?