Mazda 2.5L Turbo Oil Filter size

Okay, I’m a little surprised. I’ve been changing my own oil and filter since 1965 and they were mostly on big block Mopar engines, PH8 size filters. So having purchased my first Mazda CX-5 Turbo I ordered a few filters for my next 3 oil changes. These oil filters are smaller than the oil filter on my Toro zero turn lawn mower. They are 2 1/2” tall and 2 1/2” in diameter. I’m not an engineer but I would have thought they would have been a larger capacity. Not complaining but just an observation.

Attachments

• IMG_0423.jpeg
    IMG_0423.jpeg
    59.9 KB · Views: 55
Last edited:
They are pretty small compared to the old days, that's for sure.
Make sure you have the oil filter for the turbo. It's different than for the non turbo engine.
From your pic, I believe you have the right one.
Turbo filter is WPY and non turbo is WPE if I'm not mistaken.
Turbo engine takes 5W30 while North America Mazda says 0W20 for non turbo.
I run 5W30 in my NA engine, but that discussion is on another thread.

I'm going to be changing mine in a few months. My free dealer one has been used and by the looks it cost $110.xx so I'll change it myself. Where is best place to buy multiple filters?? I have a 23' turbo so I need the above pictured filter? No other equivalents?

I'm going to be changing mine in a few months. My free dealer one has been used and by the looks it cost $110.xx so I'll change it myself. Where is best place to buy multiple filters?? I have a 23' turbo so I need the above pictured filter? No other equivalents?
You should be able to buy it from your local Mazda dealer for about $10.50. I ordered mine from a dealer in Ohio for $9.30 each but with the shipping it came to $13+ each. I would stick with OEM.

Yes its small but does the job perfect.
12.50 msrp at my local dealer. Used to be $6-7 before the inflation/covid happened. But things are more expensive now.