CX-5 Dash cam hardwire installation

I just ordered the Viofo A229 dashcam and am looking to do a hardwire installation in order to use parking mode. I've never done this kind of installation before so I'm curious to know if this is something generally considered low-risk on a CX-5 or if it's better left to professionals and those with more experience. Main concerns right now are
  1. damaging a component connected to a tapped fuse
  2. deploying the A-pillar airbag while trying to route a cable under it
  3. scratching or breaking some part of the plastic trim while routing cables under
For others that have done a hardwire installation, how would you describe the difficulty of it and the likeliness of one of the above issues?

edit: from what I'm seeing online, accidental airbag deployment seems pretty unlikely if the engine has been off for a few minutes.

Last edited:
It's easy. You'll want to grab 2 fuse taps from the parts store. Pic related.
Then simply find a fuse that's hot all the time and one that's hot only when the ignition is on.

Personally, I'm not a fan of running a dash cam 24/7, so mine turns on only with that ignition. Like that, I only needed one fuse tap.

Attachments

• 1692421796149.png
    1692421796149.png
    227.8 KB · Views: 100
It's easy. You'll want to grab 2 fuse taps from the parts store. Pic related.
Then simply find a fuse that's hot all the time and one that's hot only when the ignition is on.

Personally, I'm not a fan of running a dash cam 24/7, so mine turns on only with that ignition. Like that, I only needed one fuse tap.
Thanks! Yeah I'm looking to get those and figuring out if I need the crimp tool or something else to connect to the hardwire kit I got amazon.com/VIOFO-Hardwire-Voltage-Protection-Parking/dp/B09MRVP2PX/ref=sr_1_4?crid=26T7BLLAPAQS0&keywords=viofo+hardwire+kit&qid=1692421958&s=automotive&sprefix=viofo+hardwire+%2Cautomotive%2C153&sr=1-4.