Any advice for a 02 Protege5, Automatic?

:
2002 Protege5
Hi all!

I have a 02 Protege5, auto transmission, with about 181k miles on it.

Any advice anyone has for making it more fun to drive?

Also, how did everyone become knowledgeable on what to do with your P5?

I've got no knowledge on car "stuff" so I'm open to read/watch anything useful that will educate me.

A friend of mine helped me to install my cold air intake and Mazdaspeed exhaust so that's all that has been done to it.

Also, thoughts on those of you who switched your automatic into a manual? Was it worth it? What were all the steps you had to take?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Well, that depends upon what you consider to be "fun to drive"! I lowered my Mazda3's ride with Eibach springs and had adjustable Koni shocks installed. Then I swapped out the OEM wheels with Enkei Racing wheels that are each 10 pounds lighter. The car handles much better, accelerates faster, and brakes shorter distances. On the bad side, the ride is noticeably stiffer and the higher density/lighter wheels tend to transmit more noise through the suspension.
If you have high aspect ratio tires, you can upsize the wheels and tires to obtain sharper steering response.

Well, that depends upon what you consider to be "fun to drive"! I lowered my Mazda3's ride with Eibach springs and had adjustable Koni shocks installed. Then I swapped out the OEM wheels with Enkei Racing wheels that are each 10 pounds lighter. The car handles much better, accelerates faster, and brakes shorter distances. On the bad side, the ride is noticeably stiffer and the higher density/lighter wheels tend to transmit more noise through the suspension.
If you have high aspect ratio tires, you can upsize the wheels and tires to obtain sharper steering response.