Afterrmarket Camera for 2013 CX-9 Sport

:
2013 CX-9 Sport
Aftermarket Camera Installation for 2013 CX-9 Sport

I installed an aftermarket camera in my 2013 CX-9 Sport with a non-Bose audio system and thought I'd share how it went for me in case there are others out there who would like to try to do the same. There are options listed in the CX-5 forum that seem like they would be completely compatible with the CX-9. The one issue I had with that is that all of those options required drilling holes into the tailgate which I didn't want to do. So, I opted to get a camera that mounted to my license plate screws, although at this point, I think any 12 volt camera will work with how I did it.

I'll add the standard disclaimer that while I was able to do this myself, I had the confidence to do it because I used to be an installer. If you're not comfortable or confident about what you're doing, don't try this yourself.