Phone charging messes with radio reception?

:
2008 Mazda5 Touring
Just bought the wife a Griffin Powerjolt dual micro usb charger. When the phone is connected to it, the radio reception goes to crap. Unplugging the phone but leaving the cable and charger in place doesn't effect it. What gives? How do you even start to address something like this?

Easiest thing to do, try another USB charger.

When you say radio reception goes to crap - what exactly do you mean? A lot of static or unable to pickup stations? Are both AM & FM affected? If you play music from a CD, is it also affected? This should determine if the problem is noise on the power line or RF interference. My guess is that when the charger is charging the phone it is emitting RF noise - it should affect AM differently than FM.

I'm not a expert by any means, but my guess would be that the charger is creating noise on the power input, which then acts as an antenna and this broadcast interferes with the reception. If this was the case, putting an RF filter on the power cable such as a ferrite bead should filter the noise out, as Secondtyme pointed out.

If the charger is putting noise on the output, the connection from the charger to the phone is the antenna, and you would need to filter the output of the USB charger.

Hopefully someone with more RF experience will chime in :)

So you're saying it's the cheap ebay usb cord? :) But then, even our oem phone cables don't have ferrite cores on them.

By crap, I mean that the radio has virtually no reception from otherwise strong stations. Unplug the phone and it all comes back. It's not isolated to a specific one either, 88.5, 91.7, 95.7 FM are frequencies we listen to and they all exhibited this behavior.

Honestly, this is the first usb car charger we've used in this vehicle, and we don't have any dedicated car chargers for our phones.

Hmm.....I only run into this when charging the phone and listening to AUX (with phone).