Advice needed for Iphone and Stock 09 MSP3 stereo

woodyak

I'm looking for some advice on the best way to connect an Iphone to my 09 MazdaSpeed3's OEM stereo. I'm new to Iphones so bare with me. I'm looking for a way to use the phone as music player and for occasional GPS directions and have it charge constantly. Ideally, I would "dock" the phone somewhere so the screen was easy to see and poke at while I'm driving. I wouldn't mind being able to hear phone calls out of the car speakers as well but that's not necessary. If this gets overly complicated or expensive I'll just use the AUX ports and charger in the armrest and deal with the phone floating around.

Does the OEM stereo have any inputs that I could hardwire into? Anyone have experience with the TomTom car kit? Any other recommendations?

I'm looking for some advice on the best way to connect an Iphone to my 09 MazdaSpeed3's OEM stereo. I'm new to Iphones so bare with me. I'm looking for a way to use the phone as music player and for occasional GPS directions and have it charge constantly. Ideally, I would "dock" the phone somewhere so the screen was easy to see and poke at while I'm driving. I wouldn't mind being able to hear phone calls out of the car speakers as well but that's not necessary. If this gets overly complicated or expensive I'll just use the AUX ports and charger in the armrest and deal with the phone floating around.

Does the OEM stereo have any inputs that I could hardwire into? Anyone have experience with the TomTom car kit? Any other recommendations?

There's going to be some give and take with all of that. The factory AUX port allows you to plug in via the headphone jack, so any audio (GPS, music, Calls, etc) will come through the car speakers. But then you can't see the screen for GPS
You can always get a longer AUX cable and put the phone elsewhere, like a vent-mount or something closer to the field of view though.