How long is a clutch to last

Chatguy86

:
03 6s
Mazda 6s 30,000 miles
I have had my Mazda for about seven months. Recenty (last week) my clutch started slipping, Monday dealer said ok no prob bring it by on friday. My car made it to Wedsday. In a matter of a few blocks my clutch went from taking off at 2000rpm to 5500rpm. My problem is Mazda's factory rep told me it is awear and tear part costing me 1700$.... Bs bs. I drive a truck for a living and my work truck has over 150k on it with the same clutch.also this is not the first clutch I have owned. I have noticed other people complaining of clutch problems and want to know what other people have experienced or think. I have talked to the government agency that regulates automotive parts and service he said he was "appalled".. but what is he going to do?

Thomas Dean
tdean18@msn.com
sf California

Last edited:
1700$ FOR A CLUTCH (shocked) Tell that dealer (fu) and go somewhere else, it shouldnt cost you more than 700-800 bux installed taxes included. How stupid do these dealers think we are?

Last edited:
Call Mazdausa. Many members have had their clutches replaced under warranty even at 35k+ miles. If you don't fight though, the dealers will rip you off.

yea but crossbow, isnt there a amount of time limit from the date of purchase that the clutch will remain under warranty, and isnt 1700$ for a clutch a big amount of bull s***.

Technically wear items are covered only for the first 12k miles. However due to some complaints with clutch shutter and such, some dealers can and have replaced clutches as last as 35,000 miles (on the odo) without cost to the customer.

Thats why I encourage a call to mazdausa. It can't hurt, all they can say is no, but they could get the dealer to drop the parts cost (maybe only pay labor) etc.

The transmission on the 6 is a b**** to drop. Standard mitchell labor rate is 7.5 to 8.0 hours. Most dealers charge around 90 bucks for out of warranty...parts will cost 500-700.