Hi..Please Help.. Knocking sound at higher rpm (I am a newbie)

s00thing

:
mazda protege 2001 1.6 ltr
Hello.. everyone. I don't know where to start but.. I think damage may have done on the car already but I want to get some opinions from you.

I bought a 2001 protege lx 1.6 ltr. 150k I bought it from lady that never took cared any parts on this car. I did fresh oil change, flush and change again. tranny service once, fresh plugs, seafoamed...etc.. Now Check engine light is off. Still oil pressure light is ON. When I bought the car it was ON and then as soon as I finishsed the oil change (10w30) the light went away.. and then after five minutes it came back ON. While I was at the parts store.. I was happened to meet master tech and trying to find out what is knocking sound is coming from and it was rod bearing knock. (shocked)(nailbyt)(nailbyt) So he said damage may have already done and he recommended to change the oil with motor honey and 20w50 to reduce sound of knocking because its thicker and heavier oil. Oil pressure light is Still on Knocking sound is coming on higher rpm than idle. I went to Autozone and the manager says it maybe oil pump that is not working and recommend to test compression and then try to replace oil pump. so I did the compression test and it came out Good on all of 4 cylinders. I just dont know whether to pay more labor to replace the oil pump or just sell it as is. I hate to let it go.. but what would you do??? Any ideas or comments? I would really appreciate your thoughts and your opinions..

Thank you.

Last edited: