Thoughts on these speakers (Infinity Reference)

ggweci

:
2003 Protege5
first let me explain what i'm trying to obtain...i'm looking for a nice and clean sounding system running off the stock deck and an amp for a decent price...somewhere under $1000CDN (~$700-750USD)

i'm thinking about going with these speakers because i've heard good things about them:

Infinity Reference 6800cs
http://www.sounddomain.com/sku/INFREF6800CS

any thoughts on these?

and can anyone recommend an nice amp and sub (10") at a decent price that i could run with these, all while retaining the stock deck?

oh, and one more thing, should i even consider replacing the rears? from what i've heard and read it's not necessary, especially with their placement in a P5...

sorry for all the questions, but i'm a novice to the audio game and need all the help i can get :)

thanks in advance...

I really like those speakers, although I have not heard them specifically. I have heard other Reference speakers and they sound good. The fact that it is a 6x8" woofer and will drop right in to the factory locations is a definate plus. Also there is more cone area on this 6x8" woofer than there is on a 6.5" so you might even get a little better bass response. I have been thinking of getting them for our MPV. They are about $100USD on ebay.

I have always enjoyed listening to Infinity speakers. My girlfriend's brother got those same speakers and they sound very clean. The tweeters are amazingly clear. He had a decent, nothing special, head unit (pioneer) so i don't think you will have a problem with the stock head unit.

I have an Infinity 12" Perfect Sub that I had in my previous car (Sunfire GT), but when i got my MSP, i stuck with the stock stereo. So now, my sub is just just chillin in my room. Its in a bandpass box and powerd by the Infinity Beta Digital 100 amp. I really enjoy the MSP stereo but i loved my system in my Sunfire.