Help finding right price for CX-5

Hello,

I'm looking to buy my first Mazda CX-5 and this is my first time buying a car from a dealer as well. Looking for some advice on what a good deal OTD for this vehicle would be? What price OTD would you shoot for?

This would be for Iowa which has 7% sales tax. Not sure what registration/tags/title would run.

Personally, I don't deal with out the door price. I know there's going to be tax title and license on every car, and except for the local difference will be the same everywhere. Even they like asking what you want to pay out the door so they know where to hide the figures. Without regard to what they're charging me for the overpriced window tint or the make-believe paint shield, I only go by what is my final price before I add tax title and license. To me it makes it easier to compare One Price against another

Personally, I don't deal with out the door price. I know there's going to be tax title and license on every car, and except for the local difference will be the same everywhere. Even they like asking what you want to pay out the door so they know where to hide the figures.

I only go by what is my final price before I add tax title and license. To me it makes it easier to compare One Price against another
This is the right answer.
I never understand why so many people use OTD pricing.

It is a useless figure on a forum like this, because everyone's tax rates and title/registration fees vary so wildly.
And it doesn't make sense to use yourself when soliciting prices from several dealers. Tax rates vary depending on what county/municipality you live in. The OTD pricing likely isn't going to be a good apples-to-apples comparison, because dealers will be using different tax rates.

Thanks I appreciate the advice! If I'm making an offer on the Mazda above how do I set what a good deal would be? Obviously I could just buy it for the price listed. According to CarGurus it's listed as a Fair Price.