2017~2024 CX-5 Doors not closing as smoothly/easily on new purchase

:
Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring
I am a valet driver on the side.
I drive 80+ every day from 1970's Peugeots to Toyota Camerys to Ferrari Californias.

We just bought a <30 mile CX-5 Grand Touring and the first time I close the door during the test drive (before buying it), the doors don't close fully with my normal closing tug.
Obviously, if I close with a strong pull, they close.

I had this with all four doors on the truck.

We've since bought it, and I continue to not close the door fully.

It almost feels like the hinges aren't lubricated enough.

Have any of you experienced the same?

Last edited:
Its not the hinges. The new models has improved and double seals to reduce interior noise transmission. If you look between the two closed doors, there is now an extra seal which gets compressed as the doors are shut.

Its not the hinges. The new models has improved and double seals to reduce interior noise transmission. If you look between the two closed doors, there is now an extra seal which gets compressed as the doors are shut.

And the reward for the extra pull is indeed glorious silence.

Is there a reassuring "thump" when closing the door?

It needs a firm pull but yes, it is quite pleasing. I shut the door on a brand new Mercedes E Class taxi the other day and it sounded like I'd kicked a trash can over. The new CX-5 eclipses that.

If the dashboard door open indicator light is not on then then doors are closed.

I had to shut my door twice almost every time for the first week I had it so I know what you mean. But that is good, because it is sealed up so tight the air pressure pushes back on the door. If you have your windows down or cracked, it is not a problem. Well, it's not really a problem anyway, but a good thing.