Cannot move to next or previous song

:
18 CX-5
Hi, I've been using the same USB stick on Mazda Connect for 2 years without issues. Upgraded to 59.00.504 NA 2 months ago, but no issues until today, so this unlikely has to do with the software upgrade.

Today, all of a sudden it keeps replaying the same song over again. Even if I manually select Next or Previous, it picks the same song again. Other issues observed:

1. Artist list is now empty!
2. Album list empty too!
3. Playlists OK, and individual playlist showing COMPLETE song list too. But if I select any song to start, it repeatedly plays the same song as described above.
4. Song list also OK, but again, replaying same song once I select any to play.

Also, while (the same) song is playing, it says Unknown Artist and Unknown Album; this problem is at least consistent with observations 1 & 2 above.

I tried unplugging the USB stick, soft restarting by holding Back+Nav+Mute, shutting off engine for an hour, but no luck still.

Anyone has experienced the same, or knows of a thread with a solution? Thx

Hate to ask the obvious but you have to start at the simple things. You don't have the repeat button pressed, right?

Good question! I have repeat on as usual, but repeating an album (forgot the proper name of this option) but not repeating a song. Now that you ask, I wonder if it's caused by the other problem I've observed, that albums are no longer detected, and, with album boundaries gone, perhaps album repeat falls back to song repeat automatically. Let me check the manual, as I cannot remember the correct icons for the two repeat modes... In any case looks like I will have to try a different USB stick in case the metadata was corrupted somehow (although Mazda is not supposed to write to it, but read only).

There's always the possibility that the usb drive went bad. They are made by the millions in China. Do you have another stick with music on it to try and see if it performs normally?