Aluminum lug nut warning

So, I ordered in four new wheels and tires from TireRack. The wheels came with aluminum lug nuts. I've never used aluminum lug nuts before but thought, hey, if TireRack sent them, they must be good to go right? Pfft.

Now, I've seen steel bolts seize to an aluminum block before, but never aluminum to aluminum but that's exactly what happened to four of the 20 lug nuts. They were torqued correctly (90 ft/lbs) but seized at the base (not the threads).

I had to drill (I have some M42 bits on hand....thank goodness) out the studs and replace them. Took over 4 hours to do all four taking my time.

So, if you have aluminum lug nuts, I strongly suggest some anti-seize compound at the base (not the threads...the seat at the bottom) or better still, throw them away and use a good grade steel ones instead....it's no fun drilling these let me tell you. Replacing the studs was easy enough however....been there, done that, many times.

Here is a photo of them along with one that held up (but is now replace with steel).

Attachments

• PXL_20221010_184903579.jpg
    PXL_20221010_184903579.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 135
Last edited:
I wouldn't be anti-seizing any aluminum lug nuts. I'd throw the damm things in the creek. Maybe if they don't seize to the wheel they'll corrode on a dissimilar metal wheel stud. What a strategy. That's a shame. Did you contact Tire Rack and enlighten them to your experience. Not carping at you but I'd put these in the 'no go' category along with aluminum jack stands. Just my opinionated opinion.

I wouldn't be anti-seizing any aluminum lug nuts. I'd throw the damm things in the creek. Maybe if they don't seize to the wheel they'll corrode on a dissimilar metal wheel stud. What a strategy. That's a shame. Did you contact Tire Rack and enlighten them to your experience. Not carping at you but I'd put these in the 'no go' category along with aluminum jack stands. Just my opinionated opinion.

I agree...pitch them if you can.