Turning Off AC

Pitter

Pitter
Contributor
:
2020 CX-5 Signature Azul Metalico
Sometimes I forget to turn off the AC before pushing the engine stop button so it comes on when I start the car. What is the negative impact of this?

Short answer No negative impact. Longer reasoning answer....

Seems like in this day and age of computer controlled everything on the car, all pushing (or not pushing) a button does is let the computer (ECU BCU etc) know you want something to happen ... i.e. turning the headlight switch on tells the body control unit you would like the lights on and it makes it happen. Not like in the old days where you were energizing a relay that powered the lights. Same with the AC switch. I don't believe the BCU will allow it to start the AC process if something bad was going to happen.

I could be wrong. I'm not an automotive engineer. Just a little knowledge guided by experience. 😊

For myself, I prefer to run the car without the A/C for the final 30 seconds before parking and turning off the car. This allows more of the condensation to be blown off of the A/C coils and drip tray, preventing mold, mildew, and the "musty" smell upon next use.

For myself, I prefer to run the car without the A/C for the final 30 seconds before parking and turning off the car. This allows more of the condensation to be blown off of the A/C coils and drip tray, preventing mold, mildew, and the "musty" smell upon next use.
I thought I was the only crazy OCD person that did that! But I also leave it on recirculate so as not to suck humid air in and add to the condensate.

Same here.