Timing parts brands?

Mikeyman64

Zoomer
:
Atlanta
:
2002/2003.5 "MSP5"
Hello all,

Time to put another water pump in the MP5. Just hit 210,000 and the pump has started to seize and rattle. I figured it is about time (or beyond) to buckle and do the full service.

After reading a few threads, specifically this one, and talking with people, I have pretty much decided which parts I am going to replace. The plan is: Water pump, timing belt, tensioner pulley, idler pulley, tensioner spring, cam seals, crank seal, and a few other odds and ends in between.

One thing I haven't found, and this brings me to my main question, is a concrete answer for is what brand to get. I know that dirt cheap isn't the best option for something as crucial as timing, however I am a student and therefor have little green to part with so I would be willing to settle for a part that will do well but might not be exactly oem.

Are there some professional opinions here on which brands to buy or stay away from? I do most of my parts shopping at rockauto.com, so there are a few different options. The internet can be so very misleading about brand reviews, so I figure this would be the best source of at least second-hand knowledge. Dayco has a decently priced timing kit that comes with the belt the two pulleys and the spring for $104.

I apologize ahead of time if this is answered somewhere. I simply couldn't find anything on what 3rd party brands are good and trustworthy.

I think you should consider this vendor. Unless the place where you live with a thing happens to be in Canada,.... God knows what kind of duty will be applied to your purchase.

ImportingbyMail_zps7a6d855c.jpg

RockAuto is definitely the best choice for Canadians,... they do it by the book, charge all taxes and I've never had any extra "surprises"at the door.

This is a complete kit,... everything you mentioned plus the drive belts, valve cover gasket, and valve cover grommets.