Front suspension work - What to replace?

BenjiHoggi

OEM+
:
Oregon, USA
:
22v Protege5
Hey all, I hope everyone is healthy and safe.

I'm seeking advice on some front-end suspension work I need to do. I'm a student and generally tight on money, so I want to do as much of it as I can before doing an alignment, in order to save money. I also enjoy driving my car "quickly" on back-roads, and I want to make sure everything is safe and tight when I do that, at least to OEM spec, if not more.

When I bought my car, I had a PPI done and was told it needed Tie rod ends and Lower control arm bushing and ball joints. The car has A LOT of steering slop right now and it clunks when at full lock and sometimes while going over bumps, so I know this is correct.

So here are my questions:
  1. I'll be ordering complete LCAs and Tie rod ends. Are there any other notable front-end suspension components which wouldn't be terribly expensive or hard to replace that I could order and do while i'm in there? (Also, I believe I need outer Tie rod ends, do inner ones need replacement?)
  2. I'll likely be ordering from RockAuto. Is there a recommended brand I should purchase (mostly for the quality of the bushings/ball joints)? I bought some Beck-Arnley LCAs a while back and returned them because I was very unimpressed by the quality of the welds. This is ultimately a daily driver and not a racecar, so I'm looking for brands which pose a good value for my money while eliminating as much slop as possible in the front end.
Thanks all for the feedback!
BenjiHoggi

You might want to consider new struts.
Quick struts come fully assembled with new springs and are much easier to install.

Normally it's the outer tie rod end that wears out.
The inner lasts much longer.

You might want to consider new struts.
Quick struts come fully assembled with new springs and are much easier to install.

Normally it's the outer tie rod end that wears out.
The inner lasts much longer.

Cool, thanks pcb.