DIY Head Gasket Advice MP5

Hey y'all! This is my first post, hope someone can help me out with my lil problem. I almost overheated my car last week while driving on some back roads, and realized there was no coolant in the reservoir because it had all been purged out of the overflow tube. The purging first happened a couple months ago on a hot day after a 4 hr drive and I thought it was just a fluke, but it happened more recently and after that incident hadda get it checked out. Turns out I have a small leak in my head gasket that's causing some CO to get into the cooling and pressurizing it, and all that fun stuff. One shop said they can fix it for $2200 and another said about $3k, or $800 for a ceramic fix which works 90% of the time or something. I'm not super familiar with cars and motors as I'm just starting out, but I know a couple things and am willing to learn. The car's my daily, but it's not crucial for work so I can afford to have it sit for a couple days. Would y'all advise me to just get it fixed by a shop, do the cheap ceramic fix, or do it myself? If anyone's replaced their head gasket and has any advice or knows if its a very hard, or manageable job to do, that would be much appreciated!

If it were me, I'd try something like this...

Keep in mind that my car is worth $250 as scrap.

Screenshot_20210622-162524_Brave.jpg

Upvote 0
Yes.
You have to follow the directions and flush the system properly or you could plug everything up.

But it looks like if you do it right, you can fix your car for $20 instead of $800 or $3,000.

It's probably similar to the ceramic fix, but you do it yourself for $20.

Upvote 0