Can't Stop a Coolant Leak

kn8dude

:
2003 Mazda Protege5
Hey all!

Im still learning alot when it comes to working on my cars. Last May my radiator failed, broke the thermostat, and caused the car to overheat and the coolant reservoir to boil over and warp. I took on the challenge of changing my radiator and waterpump then drove 5k miles cross country with no issues aside as occasional bubbling coming from the coolant reservoir (which is now slightly warped). Now thats its winter in MN, once the temperature got below freezing a month ago, i noticed my coolant kept getting low and found a drip coming from the left side of the engine underneath the waterpump housing.

So a few weeks ago I took it all apart again (way easier 2nd time round) and noticed that I never put on a gasket with the waterpump since my kit hadn't come with one and I had read a couple posts online that said they weren't necessary, I also didn't use torque specs as my understanding of that stuff was still new.

This time around I got a new gasket and a torque wrench and made sure everything was up to spec when putting it back together a 2nd time. It went well and I didn't notice a coolant leak after it was done, although my power steering fluid was leaking at the same time (it took another 2 times up on the lift to get the O-clamp tightened in the right place), but now that has been fixed and the power steering hasn't leaked since.