2016 CX-5 steering feel

I’m new to Mazda and to 2008 plus year models of any car. A 2015 Kia Sorento and this 2016 cx5 I now have both Seem to have Steering sensitive characteristics that are odd to me. The cx 5 is a certified pre owned and was factory checked. Steering is too easy or twitchy. I’m always correcting just a hair while driving. Makes for unfun driving. My older 07 Toyota Matrix has a Tight steering. I don’t have to correct all the time and takes a bit more force to make it turn. It’s also more even as it turns and corners in that I don’t have to correct. Is that just how the newer electrical steering feels or is there some alignment specs that would make the steering effort be more and with a less floating feel when going straight?

How much air pressure is in the tires?

Higher pressure might have something to do with the steering feel.

Hey Williemon, welcome. I've got a 2016 CX-5 and haven't experienced any of the symptoms that you have. My steering is rock solid and a pleasure to drive. Besides checking air pressure as Mazdiod2 mentioned, I'd consider a 4-wheel alignment if your dealer can't provide proof it's already been done. Something isn't right. The electric steering of the CX-5 is a strength, not a weakness.

It could be related to electric steering. Have your alignment checked/adjusted. Start with all your tires set to the same pressure and set them at the door plackard cold pressure. Then, adjust UP, when cold, until the ride and responsiveness suits you.

Also, remember Mazdas are meant to be and feel athletic or sporty. It should always respond quicker than a (gag) mini-van.

It’s the electric steering sensitivity. I came from two vehicles with electric steering and I still took me a few days to get used to the sensitivity. Now its just fine and fun to drive. It’s likely the drivers and not the CXs.

BTW, CPO vehicles are not “factory checked.” They may, or may not, be better that the average used car.