Recent content by Go Hawks

1. G

Dangerous cylinder deactivation trouble on 2018 CX-5 and Mazda6 models

Also, if the reflash does not disable limp mode, and the rocker arm is already off, the danger to the engine may be the least of your worries if you are presented with the situation that my wife and I were in. The danger to your life becomes the real issue.
  2. G

Tran, I can't say whether or not the reflash disables limp mode. My car has a new engine and reflash and so far I have had no further issues. My biggest concern about the recall only doing the reflash is the fact that the owner really has no indication of the rocker arm being dislodged. If...
  3. G

Great info... thanks for the link!
  4. G

Manufacture date is December 2017
  5. G

It does not appear that my VIN falls into those numbers. The last 6 digits of my VIN start with 333. I can say I am no expert on how the vin numbers are generated though. My wife has the car at work right now so I can*t determine the manufacture date. When she gets home I will verify and post.
  6. G

If the rocker arm is off, the vehicle will go into limp mode when high enough RPMs on the engine is reached. Once you "reset" the limp mode by shutting down the engine, the car will drive normal again and you will have no indication of a problem until you hit the magic RPM again.
  7. G

Ed, I wouldn't call myself or anyone else on this thread a "self appointed expert" on this topic. I think we are all concerned consumers who have purchased a vehicle that may or may not have an inherent flaw (depending on which PCM logic your car was shipped with) which could result in serious...
  8. G

The car should still be under warranty with only 24000 miles on it. Since you are buying from a private party I would let them do the recall work and then test drive the vehicle. Let the current owner know that you want to drive the car pretty hard and take it up in RPMs. If it were me...
  9. G