2013~2016 Belt Tensioner - Shouldn't this be a warranty item?

Does the new one feel stiffer when you work the cylinder back and forth compared to the leaky one?

Does it seem to have a better seal?

I recall that the OEM one seemed to be more stiff when rocking it back and forth. The aftermarket one seems to be smoother overall but will that translate to better performance? I have no idea...

As for the better seal, the OEM one seemed to be sealed in place very well. When I pried open the rubber boot using my fingers, I did not see any dirt or anything underneath. I don't plan to open up the new OEM tensioner since I'm afraid I'll spill some of the fluid.

Appreciate the report Digbicks. The good news is you know how to change the tensioner. The bad news is not having good experience with the Gates tensioner.

I have no idea what type of fluid they put in there. My guess is hydraulic fluid?

Thank you! It is definitely a new skill I picked up over the past month and I'm new to all of this as well.

I seem to be the only one having issues with the Gate tensioner so far in terms of the performance and I'm not sure if it's because there's not enough people using the Gates tensioner to give more feedback.

The best way I can compare the old OEM tensioner is like that of a brake booster. The brake booster does most of the work by providing extra input from the brake pedal and after replacing the OEM tensioner, it seems like I have no brake booster anymore and need to exert 30-40% more force to have the kickdown switch activate.

That's the question I want to know as well and it would've saved me $40-50 had I not spill the fluid and I'm sure most of us wouldn't even bother replacing the tensioner if we could top off the fluid every 2-4 years :D

OMG, THE POWER IS BACK TO NORMAL AGAIN GUYS!!:D:D:D:D